Loving the LORD enough

One of the things Bro. Huntington said on Sunday was “if there’s something in your life that you’re constantly struggling with – it’s because you don’t love the LORD enough”. That statement smacked me right between the eyes!

You see, I’ve been wanting to get up earlier in the morning to have more time with the LORD before leaving for work. So for the last week or so I’ve been setting my alarm clock a half hour earlier. But each and every morning I either re-set the alarm clock or hit the snooze button 3-4 times and before you know it the “extra” time has passed me by.

And on Monday morning, after again hitting the snooze button until I lost that extra half hour, I thought back to what he had said. And I realized that he was correct – I was loving sleep more than I was loving the LORD.

It was rather difficult to absorb, but the truth of the matter was that I didn’t love the LORD enough to give up a little bit of sleep. Ohhh, I didn’t like that realization, but it was definitely an eye-opening moment.

But I can happily say that for the past two mornings I’ve loved the LORD more than I’ve loved that extra half hour of sleep.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

