Happy Birthday Fanny Crosby

Today is the anniversary of Fanny Crosby’s birthday. What a wonderful legacy she left by writing over 8,000 hymns despite becoming blind shortly after birth. Regarding her blindness she was quoted as stating:

It seemed intended by the blessed providence of God that I should be blind all my life, and I thank him for the dispensation. If perfect earthly sight were offered me tomorrow I would not accept it. I might not have sung hymns to the praise of God if I had been distracted by the beautiful and interesting things about me.

I’m left to wonder . . . are we allowing the distraction of “living” our lives to keep us from praising God on a consistent basis? Are we too caught up in raising our children, caring for our homes etc. to spend time praising him?

So today in remembrance of Fanny Crosby I’ll walk through my day humming:

Praise Him! Praise Him!
Tell of His excellent greatness.
Praise Him! Praise Him!
Ever in joyful song!

He hideth my soul in the cleft of the rock
That shadows a dry, thirsty land;
He hideth my life with the depths of His love,
And covers me there with His hand,
And covers me there with His hand.

Draw me nearer, nearer blessed Lord,
To the cross where Thou hast died.
Draw me nearer, nearer, nearer blessed Lord,
To Thy precious, bleeding side.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

