Took two trips . . .

. . . to the dump before all the trash and old furniture was finally out of my basement and kitchen!  Poor Mark Jr carted piece after piece after piece of junk and furniture upstairs and JR (Elizabeth’s step-dad) loaded it all into his truck, they tied it down and then off they went….in 90 degree weather! 

In the meantime Elizabeth and I finished packing up my bedroom and a lot of the miscellaneous odds and ends around my house.  Then she hauled outside all the extra dining room chairs (up from the basement) and later I hosed them all down, removing several years of dust and crud. 

I’m so thankful for my son!  He’s growing into a fine young man and has developed quite a work ethic in the past six months or so.  That’s been the best part of him living down at his Dad’s – learning how to work, both the phsyical aspect as well as the being a provider for your family.

 I honestly don’t know how I would have made this move without my son.  We’ve worked like dogs during his last three visits and he actually took two days “off work” to come over today and tomorrow to help me finalize the packing. 

After hours of working we finally called it quits, flopped in the living room for an hour or so, showered and headed out to dinner.  I’ve been feeling so nostalgic these last few days so we went out to dinner at King Buffet and we reminisced about our first few visits to King Buffet.  And then I was so surprised as I watched my young man pick up the check and head off to pay the bill.  It was the first time he’s ever bought me an ordinary dinner that wasn’t a birthday or Mother’s Day treat.  I was so thrilled and felt so loved.  I’m so proud of him.

And now I’m ready for bed.  One more day to pack and prepare for the BIG MOVE!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

