A dream come true!

I had quite an experience today. Today, for the first time in my entire life, I fed the PREACHER Sunday Dinner! Thankfully I didn’t realize this little tidbit until I was seated at the table and reached out to grasp the hands on my right and on my left. And just as I was about to ask Bro. Sipes to pray over the food it hit me….I’M FEEDING SUNDAY DINNER TO THE PREACHER!!!! WOW!

Now this might not be a WOW to anyone else but for me this is a BIG deal! A REALLY BIG, BIG DEAL!!!!

For as long as I can remember, I always wanted to have the preacher over for Sunday dinner. It’s what all the other families did, but not us because my Dad didn’t go to church so we never had the preacher over for Sunday dinner. But even as a grown woman, I’ve always wanted to do that. But my husband didn’t wasn’t supportive so that was the end of that dream. And now that I’m divorced it’s rather difficult for me to have a family over that includes a man because there’s no one for him to talk to. Naturally this is made worse by the fact that both of my kids have left home, so whenever I have anyone over it’s hard to be preparing a meal AND entertaining guests etc.

But last week Sis. Kim informed me that the Sipes were coming in to preach on Sunday morning and due to a scheduling conflict she wouldn’t be able to feed them after church. So I was in! My turn!!!!

It’s been an emotionally draining week, which left me with little energy to make a cohesive plan of action for my Sunday dinner, which in turn led to a bout of fretting and stewing about what to make.

I finally settled on a big pot of Chicken and Dumplings, Mashed Potatoes, Peas and Butterhorns. For dessert I made a Cherry Pie, Death by Chocolate, and Red Velvet Cake Balls.

It dawned on me yesterday that making a one pot meal for a family that you’ve never cooked for before probably wasn’t my brightest move. So I made Crock Pot Beef Tips as well. And then on NYE someone made a comment about Bro. Sipes wanting Cinnamon Rolls ever since his wife had read it on my Facebook account, so then I added another item to my dessert list. Which as soon as I did it, I knew…. I KNEW… I could get away with scratching off every other dessert on the list. Chicken ‘n Dumplings, Butterhorns AND Cinnamon Rolls….that’s a HEAVY meal and I **knew** Iwouldn’t need anything else. And I was right.

This was the BEST pot of Chicken and Dumplings I’ve ever made – even if I did roll out the first batch of dumpings, didn’t like the texture of the dough, but went ahead and rolled out the second batch, by the time I was starting the third batch, I still didn’t like the looks of the first batch so I just pitched ’em in the trash and rolled out another batch. HEY! I was feeding my first ever Sunday dinner to a preacher – I wanted perfect dumplings! And I OUTDID myself!!!! And from the moans and groans heard around the table I’d say I most certainly made a wonderful meal.

As always, the Butterhorns were a smashing success. But I’ll admit that they definitely weren’t the best I’ve ever made. They were really good, but a bit heavy.

The best part of the day though may have been when I placed the entire of pan of Cinnamon Rolls right in front of Bro Sipes explaining that they still needed to “cool” a bit before we could enjoy them. Ohhh the look on his face was PRICELESS!!!

Although, perhaps my favorite part was when I realized that unbeknownst to me Chicken and Dumplings are Sis. Sipe’s all-time favorite meal. That was wonderful! A special gift from GOD because while I know I have a talent for making yeast breads/rolls/etc, and while I know I’m a good cook and while everyone constantly talks about how wonderful of a cook I am, I have absolutely NO self-esteem as a cook. NONE!!! Not any more.

I’ve often thought that it goes back to my current standard of living. Things are so bad for me that my pantry isn’t stocked like it used to be, I no longer have two chest freezers full of beef and pork, I no longer have the means to entertain like I did in the past, so I’m also just out of practice. And I was worried something dreadful about today’s meal, but when Sis. Sipes and then TWO of her children were so excited before we even sat down at the table over the Chicken and Dumplings, all that fear and self-doubt just dispensed into thin air and there for a few short minutes I felt like the old me who used to have people over for dinner at least once a week. Nothing fancy, just downhome cooking, but cooking people loved.

What a wonderful day!!!! You know the meal is a hit when your guests are excited about taking home leftovers even though they’re traveling three hours home. And even moreso when you find the Preacher sprawled out on your couch, perfectly content, stuffed with good food and trying to grab a nap before someone noticed.

My first meal serving a PREACER!!! And I plan on doing it again and again and again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

